Helping to ensure training is as awesome as possible

The MED Team

The Medical Education Directorate is led by Dr Simon Edgar and there are also Associate Directors of Medical Education (ADME) on each Lothian site.

MED Team

Dr Simon Edgar
Director of Medical Education
Consultant Anaesthetist
Marion Mackay
Service Manager
Comien Moffat
PA to DME and SM

The Medical Education Directorate (MED) aims to develop and translate the NHS Lothian clinical education strategy by fully integrating medical training and education into the demands of a clinical service

The MED consists of a network of leaders across the 5 main sites:

  • Associate Directors (ADMEs)
  • Undergraduate Leads
  • Simulation Leads

There is also a team of dedicated Educational Coordinators led by the MED Service Manager (Marion Mackay) who can assist you in accessing additional information and support.


Our ADMEs are key to the quality assurance and governance of the teaching and training delivered on each site in NHS Lothian.
Dr Sara Robinson
Emergency Medicine Consultant
Dr Lesley Dawson
Oncology Consultant
Honorary Senior Lecturer in Medical Oncology
Dr Mary-Louise Montague
Consultant ENT Surgeon
Dr Rob Waller
Consultant Psychiatrist
Undergraduate Lead (REH)
Dr Ross Paterson
ADME (Improvement)
Intensive Care Consultant (WGH)
Dr Vicky Tallentire
ADME - Scholarship
Dr Donald Noble
Consultant Physician

Educational Coordinators

Stacey Knox
Local Education Coordinator (REH)
Jane McCrindle
Local Education Coordinator RHCYP/DCN
Pauline Dunlop
Medical Education Coordinator SJH
Gaby Calvert
Medical Education Coordinator WGH

MED Associated Staff

Alison Mackie
Lead Pharmacist, MED
Lesley Burgess
Project Support Manager, MED
Marion Wright
Administration Assistant (SJH)
Anaid Candido
MED Quality Officer
Raquel Munoz
Administration Assistant WGH

MED Sim Team

Mr Nathan Oliver
ADME Simulation
Dr Ed Mellanby
Consultant Anaesthetist
Sim Lead - Pan Lothian Faculty Development
Dr James Tiernan
Respiratory Consultant
Clinical Placement Organiser
Sim Lead - Pan Lothian Mastery Programme
Dr Deborah Morley
Simulation Lead (WGH)
Consultant Anaesthetist
Dr Du Toit De Wet
Simulation Lead (SJH)
Dr Omair Malik
Simulation Lead, RHCYP/DCN & RIE
Consultant Anaesthetist
Dr Chris O'Shea
Psychiatry Trainee
Simulation Lead REH
Joe Roberts
Simulation Technician (RIE)
Ian Morrison
Simulation Technician (WGH/RHCYP)
Alasdair Dippie
Simulation Technician (REH/RHCYP)
Lisa Anderson
Education Coordinator SIM

Chief Registrars

Each site has a Chief Registrar, with a primary focus on wellbeing and trainee needs, with initiatives like the TMF and Trickle.
Kirsty Crowe
Renal Medicine (RIE)
Gary Paul
Anaesthetics (RIE)
Carly Brewster
Chief Registrar
Obstetrics & Gynaecology (RIE)
Janey McKane
Chief Registrar
Acute Internal Medicine / General Internal Medicine (WGH)
Jennifer Simpson
Chief Registrar
Chemical Pathology/Metabolic Medicine (RIE).
Alex Stirzaker
Chief Registrar
Geriatric Medicine (RIE)
Amanda Swan
Chief Registrar
Oncology (WGH)

Medical Education Fellows

Lothian's MEFs are doctors either taking an OOPE or a natural break in training, with full time commitment to Medical Education. This is supporting both undergraduate modules and postgraduate teaching, with a focus on Foundation Simulation.
Dr Callum Mutch
Medical Education Fellow
Medical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases
Mr Joe Esland
Medical Education Fellow
Trauma & Orthopaedics
Katherine Ralston
Medical Education Fellow (SJH)
David Maclennan
Medical Education Fellow
Medicine RIE
Samantha Hopkins
Medical Education Fellow
Oncology WGH
Jennifer Mutch
Medical Education Fellow
Psychiatry REAS
Shauna M Golden
Medical Education Fellow
Emergency Department
Saskia Clark-Stewart
Medical Education Fellow
Arjuna Sivakumaran
Medical Education Fellow
Public Health / Medicine (SJH)
Valerie Rae
Medical Education Fellow
Paediatrics RHCYP/DCN
Daniel Beck
Medical Education Fellow
Opthamology (LB/PAEP)

Structure of NHS Lothian (Dr Simon Edgar)